Designing Our Perfect Nursery

One of the very exciting things that every parent gets to do before the baby is born is paint and decorate the nursery! The room that we were going to use for our nursery was purple, which we thought was nice if we were going to have two girls. But, as it turns out, we were going to be having two boys!

Cartwheel in Morocco

This is me in 2010…could those pants have more colour in them??

I wouldn’t describe myself as the most creative person, or someone with great design sense or a good ‘vision’ for how I want things to look, so I started looking for ideas about how to set up a twin nursery. There were a lot of neutral colours, a lot of blues, golds, whites, and creams.

I would describe myself as someone who is vibrant and loves colour.

So, when my husband and I walked into Sherwin-Williams, we went over to the little booklets they had with paint ideas, and I picked up the baby room pamphlet entitled “Making Spaces Playful”.

Making Spaces Playful“Hmm” I thought “that is a nice looking room”. So I flipped to that page to take a look at the colours. And that is when my non-creative side and my colourful side merged to make a decision! It was perfect; our nursery even had a full-wall window seat, just like the one in the picture!

So, a couple of weeks later, my husband and I bought the paint and he and one of our friend’s painted the walls June Day Yellow and Parakeet Green while I painted the bookshelf Elephant Ear Grey (outside where it was well ventilated).

Then, my creative side went out and bought fabric that matched the Red Tomato colour with the idea that I would create a cushion cover for the window seat. However, as I already mentioned I’m not actually as crafty as I think, and I don’t know how to sew! So, my mom came to the rescue and made the cushion cover and took it a step further and made valances for the windows!

Then, when my mother-in-law came to visit after the boys were born, she brought us three beautiful and colourful wall-hangings to complete our bright and playful nursery for the boys!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Designing Our Perfect Nursery

  1. Congrats on your blog! Can’t believe that with so little sleep hours you still manage to make a projet like that happen! This is great! I remember how a great writer you are from your travel blog! And I’ll able to get updates of your family without harassing you on facebook haha! Keep on rocking! Xoxo

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.